Several from Antioch schools earn Blue Ribbon

The Nashville’s Agenda Steering Committee, the Nashville Public Education Foundation and Metro Nashville Public Schools are teaming up once again to recognize outstanding teaching in Metro Schools by naming 46, including several from Antioch, of the district’s best educators as Blue Ribbon Teachers for 2016. The award is part of a larger, citywide effort to recognize and honor public school teachers.

Teachers in Antioch are schools earning the honor include:

  • Chaz Carothers, Una Elementary
  • Kathleen Fuller, Antioch Middle
  • Winston Ly, Margaret Allen Middle
  • Adrienne Mayo, Cane Ridge High
  • Christina Theodoru, Intrepid College Prep

“There is no ingredient more important to great schools than great teachers,” said Mayor Megan Barry. “It is imperative that as a city and a community we do more to recognize and reward everyday teaching heroes working in classrooms across the city. The Blue Ribbon Teacher Award brings much-needed community support for outstanding teaching and is a great example of the kind of public-private partnership I want to encourage more of across Nashville.”

Since its creation in 2014, only 99 teachers have been honored as Blue Ribbon Educators. With this year’s honorees, the total comes to 145. This year, in addition to a $1,000 cash prize and an event in their honor hosted at the Vanderbilt Chancellor’s Residence, educators will be celebrated in an ad campaign.

“Having great teachers in every classroom is at the heart of our city’s ability to strengthen and improve,” said Tom Sherrard, chairman of the Nashville’s Agenda Steering Committee and a member of the NPEF Board. “There is simply nothing more important than recruiting, retaining and better supporting our best teachers. This year we really want to drive that point home with a more visible tribute. We want great teachers to know just how much we appreciate the work they do and the contributions they make to our city.”

This year’s 46 honorees were chosen from among 707 nominations by students, parents, colleagues and members of the community in one or more of three categories: leadership, impressive data or relationships with students. Each nominee was evaluated through a blind screening process that culminated with the selection of the 46 winners by a panel of community and business leaders from various backgrounds.

“The large number of nominations received this year shows that Nashville’s teaching ranks are filled with dedicated professionals who go above and beyond to care for their students and see them succeed not only academically, but socially and emotionally as well,” said Chris Henson, interim director for Metro Schools.  “We appreciate those involved with Nashville’s Agenda and the Nashville Public Education Foundation who have committed their time, money and resources to celebrate and recognize our teachers.”

The Blue Ribbon Teacher awards program began in 2014 and is a joint project of the of the Nashville’s Agenda Steering Committee, The Nashville Public Education Foundation and Metro Nashville Public Schools. Funding for this initiative includes support from the HCA Foundation, Ingram Industries, Dan and Margaret Maddox Charitable Fund, Memorial Foundation and James Stephen Turner Family Foundation, as well as this year’s corporate sponsor, First Tennessee Bank.

The Blue Ribbon Teacher Award is distinctly different from the Teacher of the Year program. The Teacher of the Year program is an internal celebration that recognizes teachers selected by colleagues in their schools, while the Blue Ribbon Teacher Awards are a community-wide celebration of great teaching. In addition, no more than 50 teachers are honored each year as Blue Ribbon Teachers based on a rigorous selection process.